Planning and Development

Our qualified and experienced team is focused on delivering the most pragmatic and direct approach to your planning or development project.

Planning & Development

Our planning advice is informed by a detailed understanding of town planning policy and law; an awareness of the political landscape and finely tuned appreciation of how viability issues can affect a project.

We can assist in the acquisition of sites to meet corporate strategies and are retained by both private and public clients, underlining the trust and expertise across our team.

Planning is a crucial part of the development process and is about accentuating the character of a site or building and amplifying its inherent qualities.

Working closely with other professional teams, we provide developers with a single source for commercial, residential, leisure and mixed use schemes.

Whether investing for capital gain or long-term income, redeveloping an existing portfolio or seeking a joint venture partner, our knowledge and experience of the market and our multi-disciplinary approach to complex schemes means we are able to offer both strategic and reliable advice, from initial planning appraisal and viability to delivery and sale.

We have extensive experience in site sourcing, viability studies, negotiation on the purchase and sale of development sites, structuring development agreements (for example joint ventures, option agreements or promotion agreements) and working closely with your architects, lawyers and other parties to delivery.

Our Planning and Development services include:

  • Strategic planning advice and development consultancy
  • Identifying development opportunities & site acquisition
  • Marketing, bid guidance and assistance (compliant where necessary with the Charities Act 2011)
  • Structuring development agreements and disposal advice
  • Development Agency
  • Sale negotiation through to completion
  • Major planning applications
  • Regeneration
  • Advice on Build to Rent and PRS
  • Appeals
  • S106 Negotiations
  • Planning and development appraisals
  • Listed building and conservation advice

To receive news, industry information and other communications, click here to opt-in.

Meet the team

John Harding
Partner

jharding@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3400

John Harding

Charles Mills
Partner

cmills@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3400

Charles Mills

Charlotte Goodrum MRTPI
Associate Partner

cgoodrum@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3412

Charlotte Goodrum MRTPI

Michael Holloway MRTPI
Associate Partner

mholloway@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3413

Michael Holloway MRTPI

Nick Delaney
Senior Associate Partner

ndelaney@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3415

Nick Delaney

Chloe Tucker
Planner

ctucker@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3416

Chloe Tucker

Rory Newman
Planner

rnewman@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3417

Rory Newman

Laura Welch MRICS
Strategic Consultant

lwelch@danielwatney.co.uk
020 3077 3452

Laura Welch MRICS

Related Services